LeakCheck's free tier tells you which breach sources an email or username appears in, and hides the rest. If you want the exposed fields, breach monitoring, or an API without a LeakCheck subscription, the six options worth a look in 2026 are Revealer, DeHashed, Snusbase, Have I Been Pwned, Intelligence X, and BreachDirectory. Each answers a different question, and the cheapest path to a full result runs from free to 2,500 euros a year.
Disclosure up front: we build Revealer.US. Assume bias and check our work. Prices and features below are from each vendor's public pages as of September 2026.
What LeakCheck gives away and what it sells
LeakCheck is a UK-registered data breach search engine that advertises more than 10 billion entries from 1,366 plus breach sources. Its documentation lists email, username, phone number, password hash, domain, and keyword as query types.
The free side is narrow. The FAQ calls hidden passwords "a limitation of free accounts" and says free services "display only the source of the leak." The public API works the same way: it takes an email or username, needs no key, and returns breach source names plus categories of exposed data, never the data itself.
Paid access, as of September 2026, comes in four shapes:
- Basic, $2.99 per day: 15 queries a day, email search only, "email/username and password exposure only."
- Monthly, $9.99 per month: 200 queries a day, full data exposure, username and keyword search, 25 breach monitors, API at 3 requests per second.
- Lifetime, $69.99 one time: 400 queries a day, full data exposure, 50 monitors.
- Enterprise, from $179 per quarter: 1 million queries a day, 1,000 monitors, bulk file checks, password and domain search, info-stealer log search.
That is a fair deal for an analyst who wants raw rows. It is a poor fit if you only need a yes or no on your own accounts, or if plaintext credentials must never appear on screen.
At a glance
| Tool | Search input | Free session shows | Cheapest full access (Sep 2026) | Credentials shown | API |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LeakCheck | Email, username, phone, hash, domain, keyword | Risk level and source names | $2.99/day or $9.99/mo | Plaintext on paid plans | Free public (sources only), paid v2 |
| Revealer | Email, username, phone, domain | 10 redacted breach lookups/day, no card | $12.99/mo | Always redacted | Pro plan, 3 whitelisted IPs |
| DeHashed | Email, username, IP, name, address, phone, VIN, domain | Quick exposure check | $6.99/7 days or $21.99/30 days | Raw rows | Credits, $15 per 500, plus subscription |
| Snusbase | Email, username, name, IP, phone, hash | Nothing without an account | Not published, shown after signup | Uncensored for members | Included, 2,048 requests/day |
| Have I Been Pwned | Email (domain for verified owners) | Breach names, dates, descriptions | Free; API from $4.39/mo billed annually | Never | Core from $4.39/mo; Pro from $379/mo |
| Intelligence X | Email, domain, IP, CIDR, URL, phone | 2/day unregistered, 50/day registered | 2,500 euros/year (Researcher) | Depends on the leak | API plan, 7,000 euros/year |
| BreachDirectory | Email, username | First 4 password characters, SHA-1 hash, length | Free web, API Pro $7.99/mo | Partial plus hash | RapidAPI, free 10 requests/mo |
How we compared
This is a criteria comparison, not a lab test. We ran nothing and claim no hit counts. We read each vendor's public pages in September 2026 and asked:
- What does a search take as input?
- What does a free session show before any payment?
- What is the lowest price to see a full result, on what term?
- How much friction is there to stop paying?
- Is there an API, and what does it cost?
- How does the vendor describe its coverage?
- Can a person get their own record suppressed, and how?
What a hit means
A hit means your identifier appeared in a dataset the vendor indexed. It does not tell you whether the password in that row is still in use, whether the row came from the original breach or a repackaged combolist, or whether malware captured it on a device rather than a server.
The raw row is the least useful part of the result. Three other fields do the work:
- Source name. A named breach tells you which account to fix and what else leaked with it. "Collection #1" tells you the row is a recycled credential list with no single origin.
- Breach date. If the source predates your last password reset, the row is history. If it postdates it, you have a live problem.
- Field categories. An email plus a hashed password is one kind of risk. An email plus a plaintext password, an IP address, and browser cookies is what infostealer logs look like: a device was infected, and the website itself may never have been breached.
This is why LeakCheck's free endpoint is more useful than it first appears: sources plus field categories are enough to decide what to rotate. It is also why we redact credentials on every Revealer tier, including Pro. Our data breach lookup shows which breaches matched, when, and what types of data were exposed, and masks the secret itself. You lose the ability to eyeball a password and gain a result you can paste into a ticket without creating a new leak. Vendor record counts deserve the same skepticism: combolists repeat the same pairs many times over, so count distinct sources, not rows.
1. Revealer
Revealer is a search layer over public and third-party sources; we do not own a breach corpus and do not claim to. Every search runs live, in real time, at the moment you run it, against public sources and endpoints Revealer does not own, and Revealer does not retain your search data. A breach lookup shows the breaches an identifier appears in, when, and the categories of exposed fields, with every credential redacted. The same identifier can be pivoted into a username search across 800+ platforms or an email lookup for linked accounts, which LeakCheck does not attempt.
Free accounts get 10 breach lookups a day as redacted previews, no card required. Paid plans start at $12.99 a month (Starter). Pro, at $79.99 a month, adds full Device Exposures (infostealer-derived data, 50 a day), 500 social lookups a day, unlimited breach lookups, and API access with three whitelisted IPs. Enterprise adds team seats through sales.
Trade-offs: if your job requires reading plaintext passwords, Revealer is the wrong tool by design. Coverage is only as good as the sources we search. Removal is suppression, not deletion, through opt-out: a verified email within 24 hours, usernames, phones, and names by manual review in about four weeks.
2. DeHashed
DeHashed is the closest thing to LeakCheck's paid tier, with more search keys. Its search page lists email, username, IP address, name, address, phone, VIN, hashes, and domain scans, and the home page advertises more than 24 billion records across 24,051 data wells, sold as unmodified raw rows.
Pricing as of September 2026 favors short commitments: Enthusiast at $6.99 for 7 days, Monthly at $21.99 for 30 days, Annually at $219.99, with recurring billing opt-in. API access is sold as credits (500 for $15.00) on top of an active Search subscription. A free Quick Check shows exposure for an email, username, or phone.
Trade-offs: in September 2026 the site carried a "Welcome to 4.0" banner saying records were still being indexed. Raw rows mean whatever the source leaked, plaintext included, on screen. Name and address search puts DeHashed in people-search territory, so the FCRA note near the end applies.
3. Snusbase
Snusbase calls itself the longest-standing data breach search engine, running since 2016. Its homepage says users can search emails, names, usernames, IP addresses, phone numbers, and password hashes, and that it displays "clear, uncensored results for our paying members."
There is no free search. Prices are not on the public site; the pricing link redirects to a sign-in page. The API is included for paying members at up to 2,048 requests per day, per the docs.
Trade-offs: no free tier and no public price is real friction next to LeakCheck's free endpoint. Results are raw and plaintext by design.
4. Have I Been Pwned
Have I Been Pwned is the free reference check. Enter an email and you get the breaches it appears in, with descriptions and dates, and never a password. Its counter showed 1,034 pwned websites and about 17.8 billion pwned addresses in September 2026. Notifications are free.
The paid side is the API: Core plans run from $4.39 a month (10 requests per minute, billed annually) to $319, and stealer log endpoints sit on Pro plans from $379 a month with verified domain control.
Trade-offs: consumer search is email only. No username, phone, or hash search, and no raw rows at any price.
5. Intelligence X
Intelligence X is a leak archive with a search engine on top. Selectors include email, domain, IP, CIDR range, URL, and phone number, and the index covers pastes, darknet pages, and document leaks as well as structured dumps.
As of September 2026, unregistered visitors get 2 selector searches a day, a free account gets 50, and full result detail requires a license. The entry paid plan, Researcher, is 2,500 euros per year for 200 searches a day; the API plan is 7,000 euros per year.
Trade-offs: the gap between free and paid is the largest here, and archive breadth means stale, low-relevance results to sift by hand.
6. BreachDirectory
BreachDirectory is the simplest free alternative. Enter an email or username, with no account, and search what it describes as 18 billion publicly leaked records. Its FAQ spells out what it stores: the first four characters of each password, the SHA-1 hash, the password length, usernames, and emails. A result shows a partial password and a hash, enough to recognize your own without exposing it.
The API is sold through RapidAPI: a free Basic plan with 10 requests a month and Pro at $7.99 a month for 1,000 requests. There is an automated Delete My Data form.
Trade-offs: two inputs only, no monitoring, and nothing on the site about breach dates or stealer coverage. Treat it as a quick partial check, not a research tool.
Price to see full results
Intelligence X (2,500 euros per year) and Snusbase (no published price) are left off. HIBP's consumer search is free; $4.39 is its cheapest API key, and that rate needs annual billing. LeakCheck's $2.99 day pass beats everything above for a one-off check, but it is email only.
The other half of the exit question is how easy it is to stop paying and get your own record out.
| Tool | Shortest paid term | Renewal | Own-record removal |
|---|---|---|---|
| LeakCheck | 1 day ($2.99) | Each plan billed on its own cycle; lifetime option | Data removal guide linked from its site |
| Revealer | 1 month ($12.99) | Monthly, cancel anytime | Opt-out suppression: email 24h, others about 4 weeks |
| DeHashed | 7 days ($6.99) | Recurring is opt-in | Remove Entry tool under results |
| Snusbase | Not published | Not published | Not stated publicly |
| Have I Been Pwned | 1 month (API); $4.39/mo is the annual rate | Monthly or annual | Opt-out of public search, email verified |
| Intelligence X | 1 year (2,500 euros) | Annual | Not stated publicly |
| BreachDirectory | 1 month ($7.99, API) | Monthly | Automated Delete My Data form |
Responsible use
Breach search engines are legal to use on your own accounts, your own domain, and engagements you are authorized to run. Using a hit to log into someone else's account, reset their password, or pressure them is a crime whichever tool surfaced the row. We wrote up where the lines sit in Is OSINT legal?. To suppress your own data in Revealer results, use opt-out; for other vendors, see the table above.
Revealer.US is not a consumer reporting agency. Its results are not consumer reports and may not be used for employment, tenant, credit, insurance, or other FCRA-covered eligibility decisions.
Frequently asked questions
Is LeakCheck free?
Partly. LeakCheck's free public endpoint and free accounts return the names of the breach sources and the categories of exposed data. Passwords and other fields stay hidden until you buy a plan. If source names are all you need, the free tier is enough.
How much does LeakCheck.io cost?
As of September 2026, LeakCheck's plan page lists Basic at $2.99 per day, Monthly at $9.99 per month, Lifetime at $69.99 one time, and Enterprise from $179 per quarter. The Basic day pass is email search only with 15 queries.
What is the best free data breach search engine?
For a plain email check, Have I Been Pwned is free, needs no account, and never shows passwords. BreachDirectory is free for email or username and shows a partial password plus hash. Revealer's free tier gives 10 redacted breach lookups a day with no card. None of the three shows plaintext credentials.
Which LeakCheck alternative shows plaintext passwords?
DeHashed and Snusbase sell raw, uncensored rows to paying members, as does LeakCheck on Monthly and above. Have I Been Pwned and Revealer never show plaintext credentials on any plan. BreachDirectory shows the first four characters and a SHA-1 hash.
Can I search breaches by username or phone number?
Yes, on most of these. LeakCheck, DeHashed, Snusbase, and Revealer accept usernames and phone numbers, and Intelligence X accepts phone numbers. Have I Been Pwned's consumer search is email only, and BreachDirectory takes email or username.
To get source names and dates for your own identifiers without plaintext credentials on screen, start with Revealer's free tier (10 redacted breach lookups a day, no card), with paid plans from $12.99/mo at pricing. Create a free account and run your own email first.